keep my inbox inspiring

Sign up to our monthly newsletter for exclusive news and trends

Follow us on all channels

Start following us for more content, inspiration, news, trends and more

© 2021 - Copyright Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie Tous droits réservés

de Grisogono participates in the first-ever FIA FormulaE...

de Grisogono participates in the first-ever FIA FormulaE Championship

Monday, 15 September 2014
Press Release
Press release

Read More

2 min read

de Grisogono is proud to take part in FormulaE, an innovative and new FIA single-seater championship and the world’s first fully-electric racing series. For this inaugural season, de Grisogono participates in this daring new adventure by being the FormulaE Cup Official Trophy Supplier for each winner in each city.

The trophies shaped as a wheel, personally designed by Fawaz Gruosi, Founder and Creative Director of de Grisogono, include the Brand’s signature arabesque design, hand painted in black vernis on white plexiglass.


The first race was won by Audi Sport ABT's Lucas di Grassi

The first race was held yesterday at Beijing’s Olympic Stadium “Bird Nest” and won by Audi Sport ABT’s Lucas di Grassi. The Brazilian was joined on the podium by Andretti’s Franck Montagny and Virgin’s Sam Bird. Some 40 million are believed to have watched the race worldwide on television with 75,000 attending on site and one billion social interactions recorded around the race.

Ten teams, each with two drivers, go head-to-head creating a unique and exciting racing series designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans, whilst accelerating the interest in electric vehicles and promoting sustainability. For de Grisogono, FormulaE, with its daringness and innovation, and passion to better the world, provides a unique synergy, echoing the many values de Grisogono shares.

“It is an honour to be part of the world’s first ever 100% electric championship,” says Fawaz Gruosi, Founder and Creative Director of de Grisogono, “it is exciting to be part of a visionary concept, bringing something completely new to racing, adapted to our ever-changing world.”
Continuing through to June 2015, the Championship will compete in the heart of 10 of the world’s leading cities racing around their iconic landmarks. The next ePrix takes place in Putrajaya, Malaysia on November 22.

Back to Top