keep my inbox inspiring

Sign up to our monthly newsletter for exclusive news and trends

Follow us on all channels

Start following us for more content, inspiration, news, trends and more

© 2021 - Copyright Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie Tous droits réservés

Nomos Glashütte scoops another design award

Nomos Glashütte scoops another design award

Monday, 12 February 2018
By The FHH Journal editors
The FHH Journal editors

Read More

1 min read

The German watchmaker has won the prestigious iFjDesign Award, its seventh in a row, this time for the Metro neomatik 39 silvercut.

It’s yet another award for Nomos Glashütte. Arguably the most successful manufacturer of mechanical watches in Germany has received the iF Design Award for the seventh time in succession for Metro Neomatik 39 Silvercut. With this award, the brand has been honored once again for outstanding product design. The expert jury selected the bestselling Nomos timepiece, which is equipped with the proprietary automatic movement DUW 3001, from over 6,400 products from 54 countries. Conceived in Berlin, Metro was designed by Mark Braun for Nomos Glashütte: “The tips of the hands resemble the Empire State Building in New York; the diamond knurling on the crown is a tribute to the watchmaking tools from Glashütte,” says the designer. The sapphire crystal glass is slightly curved, while the dial is brushed horizontally with an elegant, silver-gray finish.

Metro neomatik 39 silvercut © Nomos
Metro neomatik 39 silvercut © Nomos

Among the awardwinning “hallmarks of modernity” are numerous Nomos watches: Tangente neomatik midnight blue won the famed prize only last year; and before it, Minimatik in 2016. In the preceding years Metro (2015), Ahoi (2014), Tangomat GMT Plus (2013) and Zürich (2012) have been awarded the prize as well. Nomos Glashütte has become particularly well known through its Tangente model, and is regarded as a manufacturer of classic mechanical timepieces in the traditions of the Deutscher Werkbund and Bauhaus. To date, Nomos watches have received over 140 awards for design and quality.

Back to Top